Jewel


Jewel

Find me among the pebbles
On the beach
Staring into pools
Under barnacled rocks
At crabs and other shy creatures
Who hide their soft flesh
From the carnivores.

Among the pebbles
Find me.
Among contoured rocks
With millenia etched to
remind me…

What I came here for.

When the dog barks
At a drift wood stick
Thrown to the frothy waves
That break
The hardest hearts.

Find me among
The shells
Listening to secrets.
Unspoken lines
Between kindreds.
Even they have secrets.
Like pebbles
In closed mouths
And spluttered sun shine
And inky tell tale clouds.

Find me looking for
That polished sea fared stone.
The jewel
Among the pebbles
On the beach.
Next to the surf
breaking hearts
And the promises.

Reflect with me
A nautical mile or so.
You need speak only
To the rock pool and
The shy creatures
Who hide their soft flesh
From the carnivores
And the breaking surf.

Find me among the pebbles
And the sand
Among every grain

Like our lives
Washed up

On the shore

Leave a Reply

